Skip to Content


Steinberg Launches HALion String Edition Volume 1

December 3, 2002 -- HALion String Edition Vol. 1 is Steinberg's first complete string orchestra for computer-based music production. The included specially-developed VST- and DirectX- compatible player provides a direct connection to production systems like Cubase SX, Cubase SL and Nuendo. The 8 double basses, 10 cellos, 12 violas and 16 violins provided, based on a 5 GB sound library.

Musician and composer, Claudius Bruese, who has already made an important contribution to the development of the legendary VST piano, THE GRAND, also played a significant part in the production of the HALion String Edition. This software gives the precision in reproducing acoustic instruments, the superior sound quality and clarity, as well as the playing characteristics users around the world have come to expect of products bearing his name.


  • Complete orchestral strings - double basses, cellos, violas and violins
  • Playing styles such as legato, tremolo, pizzicato or spiccato
  • Warm and defined tones, balanced bow sounds
  • Expressiveness, full dynamic range, up and down bowing
  • Natural room ambience, authentic note decay
  • HALion String Player available for PC and Mac OS

HALion String Edition Vol.1 is expected to be available now in specialist shops at a recommended price of $399/Euro 399.

System requirements:

Windows: Pentium II 400 MHz processor or comparable AMD processor, min. 256 MB of free RAM (512 MB recommended), free hard disc space of 5 GB, Windows 98, Windows ME, Windows 2000 or Windows XP, Cubase VST 5.1 or higher, VST 2.0 or DXi compatible host application.

Mac: Power Macintosh with at least G3/500 MHz/100 MHz bus, min. 256 MB of free RAM (512 MB recommended), 5 GB free hard disc space, Mac OS 9.x or Mac OS X Version 10.2, Cubase VST 5.1 or higher, VST 2.0 or DXi compatible host application.

For more information, visit their web site at